UHP Student Peer Advisors Part 6

27 Oct

Welcome to Part 6 of the meet the SPA blog series in which each individual Student Peer Advisor is introduced with a picture and short bio.

Sam Garrett

Sam Garrett 
samuelg@gwu.edu
CCAS ’14 – Political Science
Florham Park, NJ

Hi! My name is Sam Garrett and I am a sophomore majoring in Political Science in Columbian College. I was born in Durham, North Carolina, grew up in Florham Park, NJ, and will never return to either of the two. I intend to be a (adopted) Washingtonian for life. I am a proud fiscal and social liberal. Outside of class, I spend most of my time working for GLSEN – the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network – and volunteering for other non-profit organizations that work on prevention of bullying and/or LGBT youth suicide. I’m also the Chapter Leader of GW Student Global AIDS Campaign, and spend a good amount of time coordinating HIV/AIDS prevention initiatives on campus as well as fundraisers for the Whitman Walker Clinic. On weekends, I can be found wandering around Eastern Market, Dupont & Logan Circles, and Chinatown. What I love most about the Honors Program are the fantastic Honors faculty and staff, the free food and beverages in the town house, and the awesome UHP events. Oh, and the classes are pretty cool, too! Finally, my hero is my mentor and friend Kevin Brett Jennings.

Siddhi Salvi

Siddhi Salvi
ssalvi08@gwmail.gwu.edu

BBA ’14 – Business Economics and Public Policy & International Business
Nashua, NH

Hello! My name is Siddhi Salvi and I am a sophomore in the Business School concentrating in Business Economics and Public Policy & International Business. I call Nashua, NH home, but India my motherland. I came to GW for DC. It is such a fascinating city and for my majors, the perfect place for opportunities. I do miss what a real snow-white winter looks like and the beauty of fall, but the National Mall and cherry blossoms make up for those shortcomings. When I am not doing homework or studying, my time goes toward becoming involved in GW. I am in Delta Sigma Pi – a professional Business Fraternity, GW College Republicans, Colonial Grassroots, run Cross Country for the GW team, and am in AKE – an international Business Honors Society, among many other things. During my down time, I intern. To me, interning is very important and allows me to utilize the plethora of resources offered in the city. The top of the Kennedy Center and the Capital are my two favorite tourist attractions in DC, in addition to a secret garden buried behind the shopping of Georgetown. The best show in the history of the world ever is Boy Meets World, learn to agree with that and we can be friends. :] What I love most about the Honors Program are the students and professors. The people that you meet are amazing and give you a different outlook on life.

Shailly Gaur

Shailly Gaur
shaillyg@gwmail.gwu.edu
CCAS ’14 – Biology
Sayre, PA

Hello all, my name is Shailly Gaur (pronounced like Shelly though I know that’s not how it appears).  I’m a sophomore in the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences majoring in Biology with a minor in Chemistry.  I know the face many of you are probably making after reading that, but I promise it’s not as intense as it seems.  It’s just my way of getting ready for medical school, which is my ultimate goal.  I’m from a very small town in Northeast PA called Sayre, which I refer to as “The Valley.”  I love DC since it is the polar opposite of my hometown.  There’s always something to do and somewhere to go which is a fun new experience for me.  When not busy with classes or working at Gelman, I’m usually looking for new music or watching trailers for upcoming movies.  I live on music, movies, and coffee.  The Honors Department not only fuels my coffee obsession, but also helps to keep my semi-crazed academic plans organized.   Since we are a little community, I’ve really enjoyed having a group on campus to be involved with.  The small classes allow for personal connections to be made and the activities throughout the year let you further those connections.

Leave a Reply

