UHP Student Peer Advisors Part 5

25 Oct

Welcome to Part 5 of the meet the SPA blog series in which each individual Student Peer Advisor is introduced with a picture and short bio.

Rachel Getzenberg

Rachel Getzenberg
rgetz@gwu.edu

CCAS ’14- Psychology (Pre-Med)
Baltimore, MD

Hi! My name is Rachel Getzenberg and I am sophomore from Baltimore, MD. I am a pre-med in the Colombian College, majoring in psychology. When I am not studying I write for the Hatchet and intern at Children’s National Medical Center. I also participate in Camp Kesem and I am a member of Pi Beta Phi. I love to read and explore DC, especially the frozen yogurt and cupcake stores. I love feeling like I am part of a community in the Honors Program. Honors also gives me the opportunity to take small classes and interact with great professors.

Sarah Rood

Sarah Rood
roodsb@gwmail.gwu.edu
SEAS ’14-Biomedical Engineering
Chagrin Falls, Ohio

Hello! I’m Sarah Rood, a sophomore majoring in biomedical engineering. I am from an itty bitty town outside Cleveland, Ohio called Chagrin Falls. When I’m not studying circuits or immersed in code, I am usually at a meeting for one of the many orgs I have joined. I am a member of Theta Tau, the professional Engineering Fraternity, involved in the Society of Women Engineers and cheer on the GW Basketball Team as part of Colonial Brass, GW’s pep band. Outside of the academics, I am part of two awesome and crazy orgs on campus, GW Quidditch and GW Humans vs. Zombies. I am (obviously) a huge Harry Potter nerd and love to travel, which is good because I plan on studying abroad in the spring! I love the Honors Program because I can take a break from the math and science heavy engineering courses and study subjects that I would otherwise never be able, like philosophy or 19th century literature, with professors who are incredibly qualified and students who share the same interest to learn.

Penina Smith

Penina Smith
pensmith@gwmail.gwu.edu

SPHHS ’14 – Athletic Training
Los Angeles, CA

Hello Honors Freshman! My name is Penina Smith and I am a sophomore majoring in Athletic Training in the School of Public Health.  I am a proud West Coast girl who is slowly learning that rain is not only a winter phenomenon.  One of the reasons why I chose GW is to experience seasons.  When I’m not hanging around government buildings or learning new therapeutic exercises, I make smoothies at Campus Fresh and fundraise for love.fútbol.  Every Friday night I make dinner with friends in an attempt to master baking.  (My skills have improved tremendously!)  You may also hear me belt out an awesome 80s song as I am convinced that I was born in the wrong decade.  I applied to the Honors Program on a whim and soon realized how amazing the program is.  What I love most are the unique courses and the professors who truly make an effort to get to know their students.

Leave a Reply

