Meet the Professor: Professor Lynette Osborne

20 Sep
Lynette Osborne

Professor Lynette Osborne

Hey everyone!  Since we have this fantastic new blog, I thought I’d introduce myself.

Name and Creds.I’m Dr. Lynette Osborne and I’m starting my fourth year with the UHP at GWU.  I hold a Ph.D. in sociology and women’s studies from Purdue University, an, M.A. in sociology and criminal justice from Old Dominion University, and a B.A. in psychology and sociology from California State University, Chico.

How I came to Honors.  In 2006, I moved to DC for a post doc at the National Academy of Engineering’s (NAE) Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Engineering Education (CASEE).  I found myself missing teaching, however, so I inquired about adjuncting at GW and was welcomed into the UHP community.  After teaching one class a semester during my post doc I was asked to join the faculty as a permanent part time professor in 2007.  In 2009, I was offered a full time Visiting Assistant Professor position that I will have until Dec 2010.

Teaching.  As an Honors professor at GW I have the distinct pleasure of teaching some of the brightest and most inquisitive students I’ve ever encountered.   It’s wonderful to be able to brag to my professor-friends at other universities how my students come to class regularly, do the readings, ask critical and thoughtful questions, work diligently on their projects, and produce incredibly high quality work.

I specialize in teaching courses on gender and in the UHP I lead such amazingly fun and interesting classes as Introduction to Sociology, Gender and Sexuality, Gender, Power, and Politics, Quantitative Reasoning: Sex by the Numbers, Status of Women in the US:  Application of Feminist Theory, Female Delinquency and Crime, and Senior Thesis. I am also developing a course on the Sociology of Love that will be offered in spring 2010.

Service. Service is an important part of being part of an academic program.  Beginning in fall 2009, I have also been asked to lead the Assessment effort in Honors (Assessment Czarina is my unofficial title thanks to Catherine!). In this capacity I will build on the work Dr. Shepherd and I began in spring 2009 by assessing student experiences in the program annually as well as working toward developing quality course assessment tools with professors.  I also engage in campus-level service as the ScholarshipAdvisor for the Alpha Phi fraternity.

Research.In addition to teaching, I hold two research appointments.  My research area is gender and science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education and to keep myself busy and challenged in the summers I engage in two main research efforts.  First, I am a Project Director at Goodman Research Group, Inc, where I conduct STEM education program evaluations.  Second, I am a Research Associate at the Institute for Women’s Policy Research where I conductquantitative and qualitative data analysis and am currently writing an NSF grant proposal that, if funded, will allow us to start a project that provides community college academic advisors the tools needed to encourage women to enter STEM majors in terminal-degree programs at the 2-year college level.

While I do maintain positions in other places and enjoy that work, the position that is perfect for me is being a UHP professor.  I am able to share my passion for sociology with students who are interested, engaged, and enjoy being challenged.  It has been and continues to be a great joy to have students tell me that they have selected sociology as their major or minor as a result of the course(s) they have taken with me.  That is,without a doubt, the greatest compliment I receive from students.

If there’s anything else you’d like to know about me, my classes, and/or my research, feel free to email me at LOsborne@gwu.edu.

2 Responses to “Meet the Professor: Professor Lynette Osborne”

  1. Patrick McLaughlin November 1, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Hi Lynette,

    It was a real honor and pleasure to have met you Saturday evening. Thank you for bringing me out of my shell.

    When I was in college, Psychology and Sociology were keen interests among many others. I hope we have the opportunity to cross paths again. Dinner maybe…

    Patrick

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tickets for Jon Stewart « theUHP Blog - October 14, 2009

    […] Professor Lynette Osborne has 2 extra tickets to the 10pm Jon Stewart show on Saturday.  They’re $67 each for any […]

Leave a Reply

